So I wish what I am about to write wasn't true...so my day started off well...worked until 2:30 and then my roommate/co-worker asked me if I wanted to go with her to help her teach her class. My boss said that it was alright, so I went on her hour long journey with her. We got to the part of town where the class was, and decided to go shopping at the nearby market for a bit since we had some time to kill. We bought a huge pineapple, bananas, apples, and some citrus fruit. I had not really anticipated going shopping, so all I had was my hippie bag. I piled it in my bag, along with my camera, cell phone, wallet, and various other items. So we went to the class, and Sonia did a great job teaching. We left the class and started walking down the road, only to find out that my bananas had been smushed in the bottom of my bag! On top of that, my bag had some sand from the beach that I hadn't cleaned out and it was stuck to all the fruit. My bag was a mess. I quickly pulled the rest of the unsmushed bananas out and carried them. I didn't even bother trying to go through the rest of my house to see the damage. We walked to catch a bus, and took the first one heading to where we were going. We had a long way to go, and there were two buses we needed to take. So we got to the where we needed to catch our second bus, and the guy told us the wrong bus. However, we didn't realize it until AFTER we were on the bus and we noticed it was going towards the airport. So here I am, holding these bananas in my hand, with a sticky purse thats slimy all over my lap, and we have to get off at the airport. So we get off there and of course there are no buses going where we need to go. So we walk up to the airport to find a taxi... of course there will be taxis, it's the airport! But they were charging $7,000 rFR and thats very pricey...usually it's about $2,500. So we tried to bargain with some taxi drivers, but they weren't having it. So finally we found one who would take us for $3,000, so we accepted. We got in the taxi, bananas and all, and went to our house. We got to the house and I got out of the taxi, relieved to be home finally. Then I walk up to the gate (mind you there are always big piles of dirt in front of the slope driveway leading up to our gate), and I walk around the dirt, only to realize that my feet are 2 feet deep in mud. A perfect end to the absolute worst day.



Leave a Reply.