Today is Umuganda. I don't know if you remember me mentioning Umuganda before, but it is the last Saturday of every month where Rwandans give back to the community. It usually consists of them doing something within their own village, such as fixing roads, or helping each other out with projects that they've needed to do. However, I thought before that it was annual. I am now here for my 2nd Umuganda... and I found out that it happens every month. What a concept!! I think this is something that we should and could try to adopt in the US. I want to participate in at least one umuganda. But because I live in Kigali, where people have most of the things they need (nice roads, etc), people tend to use Umuganda to clean their own house and stuff like that. The buses and shops close in the morning of Umuganda, until afternoon. Hence why people use it to clean their houses if they aren't participating in an Umuganda activity.

Enough about that, I spent the morning cleaning and doing laundry. I actually have to work today. I volunteered to help out with a Youth Discussion Forum at our office from 2-5. The topic is Education. Should be very interesting. I need to make sure that I get ready soon though, because I've been spending all day walking around in my pajamas.

I just want to say how grateful I am to have my life. Being here has given me a greater appreciation for life and all it has to offer. I went out walking yesterday when I wasn't in a good mood, and I just looked at the scenery of Rwanda. It was a beautiful sunny day, with lots of clouds and a mountain backdrop. I felt so overwhelmed with a feeling of gratitude to be able to be in such a gorgeous place. This is one experience that I will never forget for the rest of my life. I have made so many great memories being here, and it has only further sparked my interest in helping out others. I am going to work really hard to get a career in international development so that I can continue to help out people here...and in the rest of Africa. Problems here are so different than they are in the US. I actually feel like sometimes the problems here are solved a lot better. I know that when things do explode, they EXPLODE... hence the genocide. However, there aren't daily violent acts or shootings. People are more friendly here, more willing to help out their neighbor and friend, and just don't take what they have for granted. If there is one thing I will bring back to the US it is the feeling that everyone is your brother. We are all the same. There is no difference from you to me and God sees us all in the same way. I appreciate the Rwandese so much for trying to grasp this concept, especially amidst such a troubling past. They are truly incredible people.

Ah enough of this for now. I'm going to continue to do my cleaning and laundry and prepare for the meeting I have today. More later...
5/3/2013 08:14:01 am

Hi!
We had a speaker for TEDxTopanga (www.tedxtopanga.com) talk about Umaganda! Joseph Rosendo from travelscope (PBS) spoke about the healing of the community through this cultural norm! Incredible people..
Joseph begins talking about Umaganda at 6-8 min?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3tahkgRuk0U

Reply



Leave a Reply.