Today I am feeling proud to be an American...not that I normally don't feel that way but I especially feel that way today. Maybe its because I just spent the majority of my morning reading transcripts from Obama's State of the Union speech and McDonnell's GOP response transcript. Even though I don't always agree with the President's policies, I applaud his initiative and I really do believe that he is trying to do whats best. Obviously we all disagree on what would be best for the country. The Republicans agree that smaller government would be better, and the Democrats agree that expanding the government would benefit America the most. I don't bash him for his beliefs. You can't do that. You have to support the President...he is your President. I will not do to Obama what people did to George W. Bush. That is just wrong. But at the same time, the benefits of living in a democratic nation are that everyone has the right to express his/her opinion and provide input. I truly believe that going about voicing one's praise or discontent with a policy could only make our country better. I am just very unhappy with the rhetoric that some people have in my field of study and work. I am very committed to one party and one set of ideas, but that does not mean that I don't understand other peoples reasoning for their values or beliefs. It upsets me to think that people are so committed to their beliefs that they are willing to express them at the expense of other people's feelings. That is just not right. I am a strong believer, but I do not seek to destroy other people and belittle them or their ideas. I will have an educated conversation with you about politics, but my goal is not to be right...it is to express my ideas and beliefs. It is especially hard sometimes because people may say things about me for getting involved in international development. It is a very liberal stance. The Republicans can oftentimes be less concerned about the field of international development. But who is to say that because the majority of my beliefs tend to lie with the Republican party that I have to maintain all of their viewpoints on every issue, including international development? We do not live in a dictatorship. We, as Americans, are free to have our own opinions on any subject matter. We do not have to claim to be a part of a set system of beliefs. I love that about America. It is one of the reasons that I would never want to live anywhere else for an extended period of time. I love the country and the ideals that our country was founded on. But I do love international development, and I do believe that the best way to help out our country is to help third world and developing countries. What could be a better example for them than to meet helpful and generous people from the US, a democracy? It helps them to see what they could have. It helps them realize how important their lives are and how valuable freedoms are in this world. It allows them the chance to stand up to oppression and tyranny. I for some reason today am just so blessed to have had the opportunity to come over to Rwanda. I really feel like I'm doing something that will benefit my character. I have been guilty, just like many Americans, of taking luxuries for granted. For instance, I do not have a car over here, hot water, a refrigerator or microwave, air conditioning, or stable electricity. These are all things that most Rwandans go without on a daily basis, and sometimes for their whole lives. It saddens me to see some people in the US be so  ungrateful, because they don't realize what they have. Having food and clean tap water would be a luxury to people in Rwanda. And yet everyone I have met has been willing to give you everything they have. Their kindness and generosity has impressed me. It just stuns me beyond belief. I feel so safe and welcome here and people don't judge you for who you are or what you have. They take you for who you are. If there is one thing I wish to convey from my trip thus far it is to not take things for granted. Make sure everyday you tell the ones you love that you love them no matter who they are, what they have accomplished, or what they provide for you. Be selfless for a day. Think about others. Give to the millions of Americans struggling to put food on their table. Help a neighbor that is sick or afflicted. Comfort someone in need. Do your part AS A HUMAN BEING. Be more friendly with people you meet. Remember that everyone has feelings. So do not belittle or degrade them. Watch the way you talk to others. I sound like I'm preaching to do all these things, but I really do believe every person has the potential to make a difference. It just takes acknowledging it. PLEASE do something for someone today.

On another note, similarly related, Saturday is a day in Rwanda called umuganda where every citizen is required, for one day, to participate in a community service activity. I don't think most things are open/busses dont run. So I have decided that I want to take part in this as well. I still have to figure out exactly what I can do, but I think it is a noble thing for Rwandans to do. I wish we had something similar. I am very proud of the people here and the great strides they have made after years of oppression and difficult lives. It can teach us all something. Stop complaining about the life you were born into and start making strides to improve yours, and others, lives for the better.



Leave a Reply.