So it was a pretty boring day. I still wasn't feeling well, so I decided not to go to church, like I said. So I lounged around a lot of the day and made hemp bracelets. Then my roommate returned around 5 PM and we headed out to the market to get me some groceries. I hadn't done so yet and it was getting to the point that I had nothing to eat. Because we do not have a refrigerator in the house (or it's not in use because of the amount of power it uses), we have to buy groceries often...and monitor what we buy since they are not refrigerated. Plus most things that people buy here are organic foods and go bad easily, like most fruit and vegetables. So we took a bus to the market and it was the most intense thing I've ever seen. There were so many vendors selling food that they grew themselves it looked like. All the food looked like it had just been picked from the ground (with the dirt still on it) and brought to the market to be sold. Didn't make me want to eat it at all. But Sonia went into the market and negotiated for us.I spent a total of They always tried to charge us a lot....and all the Rwandan teenagers were following us around calling us "muzungus" and asking us for work. Most of the vendors tried to chase them away. There was a little girl that came up to me and held out her hand for me to shake it. They are so intrigued by Americans. It was cute. We bought some food (mostly vegetables, fruit, and starch) and went over to look at the fabric. I want to get a dress made here from fabric I buy. My roommate has already done so. It's pretty cheap to do.

After the market, we went home. When we got home, we made a good meal of stir fry. We had rice, carrots, and green beans. It was good but pretty plain. I was just hungry! Then she went to talk to her mom on the phone and I went to chat with Andrew on Skype. Then we played some cards together and I made her a hemp bracelet. Then we both went to our rooms and I played Hearts online with Andrew. It was fun! I beat him most every time. I went to bed and then just woke up. Now I'm off to start my first day of work with Never Again Rwanda. I am really excited to see what they have in store for me :) Later!



Leave a Reply.