I had kinda forgot to mention that last Friday there were 3 grenades thrown in very busy and common places in Kigali. Fortunately, I wasn't at any of the 3 sites, although I do venture to them a lot. I was lucky enough to be out in another part of town with my roommate and two co-workers. I had suspected something happened because after we got done eating at the restaurant we were at, we went out to catch motor-taxis and there were a lot of guards around. It seemed unusually excessive and they were walking really close to us. I hadn't felt weird about seeing the police before, until that day. Then when we got home, our guard told us about the attacks. It did make me flinch a little, just because it is places that I go a lot, and grenade attacks tend to happen in public gatherings... but I really have felt quite safe in Kigali since I've been here. I had read on the State Department website that grenade attacks happen from time to time, in crowded areas, and usually around April (genocide commemoration). Although, they think these attacks were either related to 1. the upcoming Presidential election in August, or 2. Sarkozy's upcoming visit to Rwanda (which happens to be today). No one really knows the cause but the attack was most likely to draw attention to the fact that there are still problems existing in Rwanda, even if much of the world, and the African community, see Rwanda as progressing at an alarming rate. I have included a link to a BBC article about the attacks: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8525989.stm. So don't be too alarmed; I am safe. Also, there is worse violence in DC everyday. People here don't have guns or knives or anything. I am lucky to be so safe here...unfortunately this just so happened when I was here. It is actually a very rare occurance.



Leave a Reply.