So this morning I went to church in Kigali. There were only about 3 white people there, and the rest were Rwandans. It was amazing. I showed up late, so I didn't get to experience the full service. Some of it was in Kinyarwanda, and some in English. After that, I called a guy who I had been talking with over Twitter (he found me because he is working with the Rwandan Development Board in Kigali for a month). I met up with him. He was already at Bourbon Cafe, the only chain coffee shop/restaurant in Kigali. We ate lunch. I had another burger (go figure, this is my third one in two weeks)...then we went exploring a little around the town. We stopped by the Hotel De Mille Collines, which is the hotel that Hotel Rwanda is based on. We figured since we were white, we could just walk inside and no one would really say anything to us since they thought we were probably staying there. And we were right. We walked right inside and immediately I was shocked at how NICE it was!! The pool looked to die for...all I wanted to do was go swimming :)...it was clear blue water, and it was hot out! But we sat on the patio for about 10 minutes and then left. Since we both were new to the whole bus system, we decided that we should try to figure out how to get back to where we live...he doesn't live too far away from me, so it was convenient. We figured it out, and it felt great to take the bus on my own without anyones help. I finally figured it out :). So here I am, back at the house writing on my blog. I am going to get some cleaning done, maybe study up a little on my Kinyarwanda and French, and who knows what else I'll do. It is just soooo hot out today. It says its 82 degrees, but it feels hotter...especially since no one wears shorts here (and as a result, I don't either). It's kind of inappropriate to show your knees I think... so therefore, I am restricted to pants and dresses...which can make a really hot day a nightmare. So therefore, I'm going to spend the rest of the day (well most of it) inside. Talk to you later guys!



Leave a Reply.