So this week I participated in a Walk to Remember for the 16th Commemoration of the 94 Genocide. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to be with my Rwandan co-workers and able to share in that experience with Rwandans. It was very emotional for many people, and I even found myself getting a little bent out of shape over it. I have to say, now that I've been here and have made Rwandan friends, I could not even begin to imagine having to leave them here to die while I take sanctuary in the US. It pains me to think about it, especially because it was so recent and during my lifetime. I have been reading about Rwanda intensely for five years now, but being here is something else. I have to say I really do love Rwanda...and Rwandans. I have grown very attached to people here and I am so so so grateful for the opportunity to serve with such amazing people who have overcome so much. Anyways, I just wanted to share a little bit about that. On a more uplifting note, Andrew and I decided to sponsor 2 Rwandan youth in pursuing their education. Because school fees are very expensive for Rwandans ($100 per term, 3 times a year), we have decided to sponsor 2 of them. A guy that I work with, Julius Kwizera, has an organization that he started (it's still in the making with no employees) to help orphans of the genocide (victims and perpetrators). We are going to sponsor a boy and a girl, an orphan from a victim of the genocide and one from a perpetrator of the genocide. One thing that I have noticed here in Rwanda is the lack of funds for orphans of perpetrators. Because of the large scale imprisonment of the perpetrators of the genocide, many of their children were orphaned as well. Unlike the Tutsis though there is no fund set up to aid them in their school fees. Resentment and lack of reconciliation exists because of this divide. Sponsoring just one kid isn't going to do much in the overall scheme of things, but I'm hoping that it will change that kid's life. I'm hoping that I can further aid his organization, and help it to grow, when I get back to the US. The reason that I like his organization is because 100% of the proceeds are given to the recipients. Unlike most of those organizations that aid the poor in underdeveloped countries, he does not pay any employees and does not pay anything to maintain the organization. If everyone that helps him is volunteering, more can be done for the students. I am anxious to get involved. We are going to discuss it tonight so hopefully it will all work out. He also told me that I can meet the student I will sponsor, and meet their family, before I head back to the US. This will also make it a lot more personal for me and hopefully I can show them that I care about them and want to help them out. Anyways, that's all for now. I am posting a few pics from the walk the other day. ENJOY.
Picture
Me and my co-worker Taima Lydia
Picture
Group of NAR club members and staff
Picture
The President is in yellow
4/13/2012 07:00:17 pm

No matter if you have bought or just want to buy [url=http://www.lisanala.com/Cheap-womens-shoes_c95 Ladies shoes online] . You can take a few minutes and browse to our website .you may can get a good opion which ones should be more suitable for you .

Reply



Leave a Reply.