So this past weekend I went on a bus trip to the Southern Province of Rwanda with my co-worker Taima and two members of NAR clubs-- Kagame and James. We had so much fun and I can honestly say it was one of my best days in Rwanda thus far. We originally had planned to go to Butare and tour the National University of Rwanda and also the National Museum. However, we went to see the Memorial site in Murambi first, and ended up staying there all day (and also getting stuck there because no buses were running from afternoon until 6 because of the mourning period). So a brief history lesson about the Memorial in Murambi... it was a technical school that 50,000 Rwandans fled to in 1994 during the genocide. There were only 4 survivors, one of which I met (Emmanuel). The thing that sets this memorial apart from some of the other ones is the fact that they have preserved some of the bodies. We went from classroom to classroom seeing body upon body. There was also a room full of skulls and bones piled high...along with a room of old clothes from the victims. It was very touching and you could really see the magnitude of the conflict and death toll. I had remained composed throughout the rooms, but when I reached the mass grave and Taima started crying, I lost it. I know I wasn't here during the genocide, and I don't have any family that was lost during the genocide, but I could feel the pain that those people felt being there. The survivor was with us and he put his arm around Taima when she was crying. It made me so upset to think that this man lost all 5 of his kids, his wife, his brother, his sister, his parents, and all his neighbors and was comforting us! How he can live and go on I don't even know. He gave me a copy of his testimony and I read it the next day and proceeded to cry again. It was heartbreaking. But I decided the day that I met him that I am going to give him the extra camera that I brought to Rwanda. I had an old camera, which was replaced by a new one my mom purchased for me right before coming to Rwanda, and I brought it to Rwanda to donate to someone. I have been trying to figure out who I can give it to. I didn't want to be biased by giving it to someone so when I saw him, it hit me that he was the perfect recipient. He needs something to distract his mind from all that is probably going on up there... photography can do that for him. Also, he volunteers his time at the Murambi Memorial everyday and was saying how he has always wanted a camera to take pictures of people he meets. He was a very sweet guy. In fact, he reminded me a lot of my brother. Just the way he carried himself or something... but it made me sad to see him continue to live in poverty despite overcoming the worst possible circumstances I think anyone could be presented with. Gosh it almost makes me mad sometimes that there are people out there who get so mad about their minimal problems... me included. I complain about the smallest things, but look at this guy. He lost everything. He can't even move back to his old home because he is living amongst people that killed his family and deny it (because there were only 4 survivors there isn't much legitimacy to claims of who killed who)...and there is no justice for him. I am probably going to go back to the Southern Province this weekend to give him the camera. I don't want him to be waiting too long.

If there is one thing I can pass along through my blog it is to cherish your life and what you have. Like I said, these people have nothing. Even people pity me for having to take a bucket shower, lack hot water, a microwave, an oven, consistent internet, a car, etc... the list goes on... but these people have so much less... and all is would take is a little bit of your time and money to change their lives. What they really need is love. They need people to know that people have a positive view of them. They don't need people to have these horrible images of Rwandans and Africans in general. People need to be educated about Rwanda and Africa. They need to take the time to get to know one of them and realize that they aren't all "savages." If anything Western colonialism started the savagery that exists in some of Africa today, and this is most certainly the case in Rwanda. Of all the African nations, I think they were perhaps the most united before being colonized. They shared one culture and language. Most other African countries have lots of tribes but not Rwanda. The distinction between groups came about as a result of colonization and Western countries encouraging discrimination and distinction amongst classes (mostly based on appearance and occupation). Anyways, I am venting... but that's because I love Rwanda and it pains me to see people say some of the things they say about it. There are lots of problems of course. There are problems in every nation. But overall people need to see how much Rwanda is progressing and how the stigma that they are all blood-thirsty savages isn't true. I share my stories and pictures to show people the truth. I hope that you will pass this knowledge along to your friends. Thanks.
Picture
Me James & Kagame on the bus to Murambi
Picture
I met this kid on the way
Picture
Me with Emmanuel, one of the 4 survivors at Murambi
Picture
Talking with Emmanuel
4/13/2012 06:59:57 pm

In many cases much clothes are the need and on some events less clothing is required. Social status should be kept in mind while choosing a dress. [url=http://www.lisanala.com/Cheap-womens-clothes_c21 Womens clothing ] are considered to be the protection for a hazardous event like cooking and hiking. These days’ women want a variety of clothing as the time is very advanced. Hygienic barrier are also seen through the clothing. Clothes prevent the body from germs and many toxins that harm the body. The uniform represents ones profession that he is professionally a military soldier or an officer. Clothing also reflects one style and choice. Clothing represents the social difference as well as the sexual differences. In many societies clothing is considered to be the factor of modest, religion, social status and gender.

Reply



Leave a Reply.